Showing posts with label Irish whiskey. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Irish whiskey. Show all posts

Friday, March 17, 2023

Black Beak Citrus Galaxy IPA Single Malt Irish Whiskey Review & Tasting Notes

 


Standing proud on Ireland’s Wild Atlantic Way in Kinsale, Co. Cork, we are Blacks, Ireland’s first co-located Brewery & Distillery.

Born out of passion by founders, husband and wife duo, Sam & Maudeline Black. What started as a hobby, after Sam was gifted a home brewing kit for Valentine’s Day from Maudeline many years ago, quickly became an obsession and a burning desire to experiment and create.  It is this enthusiasm and drive that saw Blacks Brewery become a reality.” – Keeper’s Quest Brands

 

It was in 2013 when the Blacks opened their brewery and distillery overlooking the Bandon River. Their dream went beyond simply producing beer and spirits. What they made had to be unique and not another mass-produced product.

 

Blacks is a member of Ireland’s Origin Green – Bord Bia. It is a voluntary, state-run program that partners the government, private sector, farmers, and food producers with a shared mission of embedding sustainability in everything they do. For Blacks’ part, it actively reduces waste production and energy consumption and employs energy-efficient technologies. Blacks also plants an oak tree for every case of whiskey it sells.

 

Today I’m exploring Black Beak Citrus Galaxy IPA Cask. It is a single malt Irish whiskey that aged in (you guessed it) an IPA cask that held the brewery’s ale. It is brand-new to the American market. There’s not a lot of information available on this whiskey. However, legally it must be made of malted barley run through a pot still at a single distillery and aged in oak. The label suggests it is sourced, but I could not locate information on which Irish distillery is responsible for the distillate.

 

Bottled at 43% ABV (86°), it is packaged in 700ml, but Keeper’s Quest Brands, its exclusive US distributor, didn’t have pricing information yet. Due to this, the Bottle, Bar, or Bust rating will only consider the aroma and taste. And before I can do that, I must thank Keeper’s Quest for providing me with a sample in exchange for a no-strings-attached, honest review.

 

Let’s #DrinkCurious.

 

Appearance: The yellow-gold liquid was poured neat into my Glencairn glass. It formed a medium-thick rim that released wide, slow tears.

 

Nose: It smells like this whiskey was aptly named, as a blast of grapefruit, orange, and lemon filled my nostrils. It took an effort to get beneath that citrus, and when I did, there was an aroma of freshly-cut hay. A malty note was easily discerned as I pulled the air into my mouth.

 

Palate: As this whiskey hit my tongue, it provided a thin mouthfeel. Honey, lemon oil, and vanilla were on the front, while the middle featured orange peel and white grapefruit. The back consisted of clove, oak, and black pepper.

 

Finish: Clove, oak, black pepper, and grapefruit remained in my mouth and throat. That sensation remained for several minutes. But, just as I thought that was the end of things, I tasted very dark chocolate.

 

Bottle, Bar, or Bust: I believe Blacks achieved its goal; this was unlike any Irish whiskey I’ve had. I’m not entirely sure what to make of it. I’ve had American Single Malts that were finished in IPA casks. From memory, those were more tangerine-like than the grapefruit the Blacks’ whiskey possessed. The honey and vanilla were reminiscent of Irish whiskey.

 

If bitter fruit notes don’t excite you, you probably won’t appreciate this whiskey. If you’re an IPA fan, you likely will. But, those looking for a typical Irish whiskey will be taken aback; there’s little that resembles one. Black Beak Citrus Galaxy IPA Cask is way off-profile, and because of that, you should try this before walking away with one. That’s a recipe for a Bar rating. Cheers!  




 

My Simple, Easy-to-Understand Rating System

  • Bottle = Buy It
  • Bar = Try It
  • Bust = Leave It

 

Whiskeyfellow encourages you to enjoy your whiskey as you see fit but begs you do so responsibly.

 


Wednesday, March 1, 2023

Hercules Mulligan Eyr & Rye RTD Cocktail Review & Tasting Notes


Tailor. Irish immigrant. Spy. Hero of the American Revolution. His name? Mulligan. Hercules Mulligan.

 

“[He ran] his sartorial business at 23 Queen Street in Lower Manhattan. His most frequent customers were British officers who trusted his friendly and talkative demeanor, plus this ‘Agent Double-Oh-Needle’ offered them the finest Spirits that loosened their tongues and revealed many a secret. In fact, Hercules saved George Washington’s life on two occasions through highly-classified information careless British officers spilled as their measures were being taken. The King’s men wanted to capture Washington and get rid of him, but precious intelligence saved his skin…” – Hercules Mulligan Company

 

Hercules Mulligan was the real thing, as even the CIA acknowledges him! I can’t help but wonder if, like another famous spy, he prefers his cocktails shaken, not stirred?

  

Hercules Mulligan’s Eyr & Rye follows the highly-successful 2019 release of its Ready To Drink (RTD) cocktail, Rum & Rye. Eyr & Rye is a twist on the classic Manhattan by adding a bit of Irish magic to the concoction with Irish whiskey, American Rye, and cherry bitters. It isn’t a watered-down cocktail; it rings in at 43% ABV (86°).

 

This inaugural release is on 2000 bottles and is exclusively available via Flaviar (an online spirits membership club) and Caskers. You can expect to pay $49.99 for a 750ml bottle.

 

Before I #DrinkCurious, I must thank the Hercules Mulligan Company for a sample of this RTD cocktail in exchange for a no-strings-attached, honest review. Let’s start sipping!

 

Appearance: I approached this review the same way I do nearly any other; I used a Glencairn glass. The liquid’s color was that of black cherry. A bold rim generated slow, sticky tears.

 

Nose: The aroma of cherry bitters was prominent. I was also able to pick out mint, which is attributable to the American Rye whiskey. I didn’t find any smells leading me to the Irish content. Inhaling through my lips offered nothing different.  

 

Palate: The thin, oily, and quite slick mouthfeel included a cooling sensation as if this were iced. It wasn’t; I sipped this neat. Cherry, vanilla, and raw honey were on the front of my palate. Midway through, orange citrus and more honey seemed to park in place. As it hit the back of my palate, a kiss of mint melded with bitters and tannins.

 

Finish: Despite swallowing liquid, I could swear it was glued to my mid-palate. It didn’t move. I could swallow. I could run my tongue against my hard palate. And, yet, the flavors of raw honey, cherry bitters, and citrus remained.

 

Bottle, Bar, or Bust: The finish was one of the most unique experiences I’ve had in my years of whiskey appreciation. This cocktail seemed like a cross between a Manhattan, an Old Fashioned, and a dollop of honey. While I enjoy sipping an occasional cocktail, I genuinely suck at making them. Eyr & Rye, like Rum & Rye, makes that easier.

 

I'm giving Eyr & Rye a Bottle rating, just as I did with Rum & Rye. It is delicious and you're going to love it. Cheers!

 

My Simple, Easy-to-Understand Rating System

  • Bottle = Buy It
  • Bar = Try It
  • Bust = Leave It

 

Whiskeyfellow encourages you to enjoy your whiskey as you see fit but begs you do so responsibly.

 

 

Friday, February 10, 2023

Two Stacks Dram In A Can Irish Whiskey Review & Tasting Notes


If you’re anything like me, the first thing you think is, Hey, that’s whiskey in a can. The second thing to come to mind should be, Never judge a book by its cover. Mind you, I’ve not yet tasted what’s inside this can; it is just the whole #DrinkCurious mindset at work. I’ll get to tasting this in a few moments.

 

Dram In A Can is what Two Stacks calls this package. When I was in Denver a few weeks ago, this was amongst the 50ml spirits bottles (although the can happens to be 100ml). If you’ve never heard of Two Stacks before, don’t worry; neither have I.

 

Two Stacks is a whiskey brand founded in 2020 by Shane McCarthy, Liam Brogan, and Donal McLynn as one of only a handful of independent bonding and blending facilities in Ireland.

 

Our unique approach to working with some of Ireland's leading distilleries; selecting the finest spirit distilled across the Island allows us to create incredible expressions of whiskey never crafted nor tasted before. We continue to build our reputation on top of three key fundamentals and to help shape the future in Irish whiskey: Transparency, Creativity, and Innovation.” – Two Stacks

 

There are two versions of Dram In A Can: a single malt and a blend. Today I’m sampling the latter. Two Stacks suggests this is made from grain, malt, and pot still whiskeys. The combination is non-chill filtered and naturally colored. The makeup of it is as follows:

 

  • 40% dark grain aged in virgin oak
  • 40% light grain aged in Bourbon barrels
  • 8% pot still aged in Oloroso sherry casks
  • 10% double malt aged in Bourbon barrels
  • 2% peated malt aged in Bourbon barrels

 

The transparency is fantastic. What really excites me is the 2% peated malt because while that’s commonplace in Scotch, it is damned unusual for Irish whiskey.

 

Dram In A Can is bottled… er… canned in Minneapolis at 43% ABV (86°). I paid $4.99 for it. Retail packages are in four-packs. For the record, Two Stacks also sells its whiskey in standard 750ml bottles. Now that you’ve got the background of everything let’s crack this baby open and explore what’s inside.

 

Appearance: I poured the contents of the can into my Glencairn glass. The liquid inside was a brilliant gold. Remember, this has no added E150a coloring. A thin rim released a wide curtain that fell back into the pool.

 

Nose: Apples, pears, vanilla, honey, and apricots formed a sweet, fruity nose. A whiff of nuts was also found. When I inhaled the vapor through my lips, vanilla, and apricot rolled past my tongue. There was no evidence whatsoever of smoke or peat.

 

Palate: I discovered a creamy, full-bodied mouthfeel, and the front of my palate encountered raw honey, coconut, and dried apricot. The middle offered vanilla cream and cinnamon apples, while almond, oak, and white pepper flavors were on the back.

 

Finish: Oh… this is where the peat came into play. But, it wasn’t overwhelming, and, in fact, you’d probably miss it if you weren’t prepared for a peat note somewhere. It added a soft, smoky quality, which naturally married the tastes of apple, apricot, honey, oak, and white pepper. The whole experience lasted a medium-to-long duration.

 

Bottle, Bar, or Bust: Don’t judge a book by its cover. I said that at the beginning of this review. I admit I giggled with curiosity when I first saw this in the store. I hadn’t planned on being impressed, but dang, I am. I smiled. I told Mrs. Whiskeyfellow how much I was enjoying this pour. That, my friends, means it takes my Bottle (Can?) rating. Cheers!

 

My Simple, Easy-to-Understand Rating System

  • Bottle = Buy It
  • Bar = Try It
  • Bust = Leave It

 

Whiskeyfellow encourages you to enjoy your whiskey as you see fit but begs you do so responsibly.

 


 

Wednesday, December 14, 2022

The 2022 Whiskeyfellow Awards are out!


Each trip around the sun seems to go faster than the last. Here we are, at the end of 2022, and it is again time to hand out the annual Whiskeyfellow Awards (queue the loud cheering).

 

If you think this is yet another list of whiskeys that you’ll never be able to get your hands on, that’s not how the Whiskeyfellow Awards work. All my reviews are written for the average whiskey drinker, and my “Best Of” whiskeys are no different. For any whiskey to qualify for an award, it must meet the following requirements:

 

It must have been something I’ve both tasted and reviewed this year. Some reviewers have a team of people who sip whiskeys all year long and provide their favorites to the “face.” That person then takes that list and comes up with their favorites. Whiskeyfellow doesn’t work like that; I’m a one-person shop tasting whiskeys and keeping tabs on the ones I enjoy the most.

 

Any winning whiskey must be reasonably affordable. I tend to put a ceiling of $150.00 for my awarded whiskeys. That’s about the most I’d pay for a whiskey, and I’d assume the average whiskey drinker is in that range, too.

 

It must be pretty reasonable to get your hands on. I’m not suggesting that you can walk into any liquor store to find it – the three-tier distribution system makes that promise impossible beyond Jack Daniel’s Old No. 7, Evan Williams Black Label, and Jim Beam White Label. But, it also won’t be something you’d have to sell your soul to see in person, let alone acquire, and when you do, hopefully, you don’t have some jackwagon charging many times retail for it.

 

It cannot be a store pick. While these are a fantastic way to taste truly unique whiskeys, the average whiskey drinker outside the store’s or club’s locale typically can’t get their hands on a bottle.


In my opinion, the bottom line is that
for a “Best Of” list to have any value, it must contain whiskeys you can actually drink. Otherwise, what’s the point?

 

I’ve never understood how reviewers can name the Best Whiskey before the year is close to over (some publish theirs in September!). That’s why I wait until December to hand out awards. I can safely say that I’ve found my top whiskeys while still giving you some time to buy presents if you’re so inclined.

 

I also occasionally tweak the categories. Two years ago, I added a Please Santa? category. It allowed me to point out something genuinely outstanding that was either extraordinarily difficult to find or way above the average whiskey drinker’s bankroll. That category carries over into 2022. But, new to the Whiskeyfellow Awards is The Sleeper category which reflects a whiskey that came out of nowhere and blew my mind. And, in what may be a complete shock to anyone who has followed me for more than a year, there’s a Canadian Whisky category! Don’t order yet, because if you keep reading, I’ll also include at no extra charge the Flavored Whiskey category.

 

I’ve also eliminated a category. Strange as it may sound, I’m no longer naming a Whiskey of the Year. The classes I’ve listed are broad and wide. Simply put, with this breadth, a Best of the Best is pure guesswork and becomes irrelevant.

 

I used to include links to my reviews of what wins in a category. Every year I’ve published my list, a particular social media platform that shall remain anonymous (cough cough Meta cough cough) has flagged my post and shut it down, calling it “clickbait.” Last year I stopped doing it, and magically, no flag was thrown. You can search out any of the reviews of these whiskeys on my Blog.

 

This year, I reviewed somewhere in the neighborhood of 165 whiskeys. While that may seem like a lot, I’ve not tasted whiskeys from every available niche. If you don’t see something in the category you’re seeking, it means one of two things happened; I didn’t drink anything in that category, or nothing from it was worthy of a “Best Of” award.

 

Finally, all I care about is the liquid inside the bottle. It matters not if it is sourced or a brand’s own distillate.

 

And now, let’s get to it! Here’s the best of my #DrinkCurious journey for 2022:

 

American Single Malt




 

Winner:  Copperworks Distilling Co. Release No. 042

Date reviewed: October 19, 2022

Price:  $76.49

Release No. 042 is one of those whiskeys where I don’t really care what it costs because it is a sipping experience that must be savored. There was nothing to dislike. The peat was so light that even folks who claim they don’t enjoy peat will discard that notion. I recommend this American Single Malt to Bourbon drinkers who aren’t sold on malts – Release No. 042 will change your mind. It earns every little bit of my Bottle rating.




 

Runner up:  Hatch Distilling Doc Wahl Straight Single Malt Whiskey

Date reviewed: September 23, 2022

Price:  $40.00

I am not a coffee drinker, but despite that, I kept coming back to additional pours of Doc Wahl. I will say this much; if you enjoy espresso, you’re going to go ga-ga for this American Single Malt. If you’re less into coffee (like me), you’ll still find this one exciting and attention-grabbing. The pepper at the end adds a complementary layer that simply works. And, yet, the nose gave no hints as to what the mouth would expect.

 

The $40.00 price is at the sweet spot for authentic craft whiskey, bolstered more so by its stated proof. I loved Doc Wahl American Single Malt. I believe you will, too, and that means it has earned every bit of my coveted Bottle rating.

 

American Rye




 

Winner:  Mammoth Distilling Northern Rye No. 01

Date reviewed: November 10, 2022

Price:  $74.99

Before I began this tasting journey, I stated that Northern Rye No. 01 looked unique on paper. It followed through on that promise, offering me one of the most unusual palate experiences I’ve encountered. If you’re a fan of Rye, you’re going to go crazy here. If you’re not big into Rye, this may be the one that grabs your interest. I enjoyed every bit of this whiskey; I would describe it as entertaining. Northern Rye No. 01 earns every bit of its Bottle rating.

 




Runner up:  JW Kelly & Co Melrose Rye

Date reviewed: December 12, 2022

Price:  $60.00

JW Kelly & Co.’s Melrose Rye is a nice change from the “me too” American Ryes on the market. There was nothing to complain about. If you like flavorful Ryes, Melrose does that. If you want a luxurious mouthfeel, Melrose has it. If you desire a slow-sipping whiskey, Melrose knocks that out of the ballpark. All of this for $60.00? Are you kidding me? Melrose is what Bottle ratings are all about.

 

Bourbon




 

Winner:  Ben Holladay Bottled-in-Bond Bourbon

Date reviewed: June 13, 2022

Price:  $59.99

I may say something that will make you angry, and for that, I apologize. As we pass the halfway point of 2022, it is time to start considering the cream of the crop. Ben Holladay Bottled-in-Bond Bourbon is one of the best – if not the best – Bourbon I’ve tasted year-to-date. There’s nothing not to love here. Even the price is attractive. So, why is that upsetting? Well, it means you’ll have to travel to or have a friend in Kansas or Missouri to snag a Bottle. Travel. Make new friends. Trust me.






Runner up: Barrell Craft Spirits Vantage Straight Bourbon

Date reviewed: September 2, 2022

Price:  $89.99

I’ve never had a Mizunara-finished whiskey before today. I can’t swear that most of this experience is directly related to that wood, as there are two others to contend with, but let’s say that I’m curious about tasting others. The coconut flavors came through hard, and while that’s something that isn’t overly unusual with whiskeys, to have it as prominent as Vantage offers is.

 

Vantage is also surprisingly easy to sip despite its proof. There is undoubtedly a spicy component to this Bourbon, but no alcohol burn, which many folks will appreciate. However, it also sneaks up on you because there is no warning of it coming before it hits. I’ve been delighted with many of Barrell Craft Spirits' offerings as of late, and Vantage is no exception. I’d happily fork over the $90 to have this Bottle in my library.


 

World Whiskey





Winner: Starward Octave Barrels Australian Single Malt

Date reviewed: June 3, 2022

Price:  $79.99

The smaller cooperage was not an issue with this whisky. Perhaps it was due to it being vintage rather than new. The seasoned oak was different, I loved the fruity flavors (especially the blueberry), and those Bullseye candies have always been my favorite. Starward Octave Barrels hit all the nails on the head, and I can safely say this is one of the top whiskies I’ve tried in 2022. It steals my Bottle rating. Find it. Buy it. Enjoy it.

 



Runner up:  Indri-Trīni Indian Single Malt

Date reviewed: March 21, 2022

Price:  $60.00

Indri-Trīni lacks any resemblance to Indian Single Malts I’ve tried from Amrut, Paul John, Kamet, or Rampur. I’ve loved Indian Single Malts for the last couple of years, and while decidedly different, this is an attention-grabbing whisky that is also easy on the wallet. If big, fruity notes are your jam, you will swoon over Indri-Trīni, and it snags my Bottle rating.

 

Canadian Whisky




 

Winner: Proof and Wood Good Day 21-Year

Date reviewed: July 18, 2022

Price:  $99.99

I’m going to do something I’ve never done before. I’m going to congratulate Proof and Wood. You have finally ended my quest for an affordable, drinkable Canadian whisky. Yeah, in this case, $99.99 is “affordable” when you consider it is 21 years old. I’ve paid far more than that when it comes to similarly-aged Scotch, and that becomes almost a Walmart price when you bring Bourbon into the picture. Today was a good day to drink Good Day, and it snags my Bottle rating.




Runner up:  BEARFACE Triple Oak

Date reviewed:  August 31, 2022

Price:  $34.99

I don’t know if it is the base single grain whisky, the French oak finish, the Hungarian oak finish, or those repurposed shipping containers that did it, but BEARFACE Triple Oak Whisky is easy to sip and generous on flavor, and it is just damned good. It earns every bit of my Bottle rating, and I’m thrilled to have this easy-on-the-wallet Canadian whisky in my library. 

 

Irish Whiskey

 



Winner:  Limavady Irish Single Malt, Single Barrel

Date reviewed: September 21, 2022

Price:  $49.99

Limavady has a complex nose, an unusually thick mouthfeel, and a spicy, fruity palate. Its long-lasting finish gently warmed my throat, and I caught myself smiling as I analyzed the experience. To offer a 46% ABV single malt at $50.00 ranks this one heck of a bargain, and I can’t think of a single reason why it hasn’t earned my Bottle rating. On a side note, Limavady is one of the better Irish whiskeys I’ve sampled this year.






Runner up
:  The Irishman Single Malt

Date reviewed: August 10, 2022

Price:  $45.00

There are a lot of 40% ABV Irish whiskeys out there for less than the cost of The Irishman Single Malt. If you’re shopping based on price, you’ll cheat yourself out of something special. Even Mrs. Whiskeyfellow took a sip and smiled, then begged for a second. I’m thrilled to crown this with my Bottle rating and have this in my whiskey library.

 

Scotch Whisky






Winner: BenRiach Smoke Season Single Malt

Date reviewed: October 12, 2022

Price:  $79.99

I’m a big fan of Islay Scotches, and Smoke Season can compete effortlessly with several (and win). There’s no way on the planet I would guess this was a Speyside. After jotting down my tasting notes, I read my review to see how close this year’s matched up. While the proof was the same each year, I believe this year’s release trumps the inaugural. This one steals my Bottle rating.

 




Runner up: Glengoyne 10-Year Single Malt

Date reviewed:  May 9, 2022

Price:  $37.99

There are summer days when I want to sit on my back deck and drink something light and refreshing. Glengoyne 10 is perfect for that occasion. Sans the peat-craver, there’s something here for any Scotch-lover: lots of fruity goodness, significant sherry influence, a touch of spice, a lovely texture, and even those who are price-conscious in this economy yet demand a quality pour. If you’ve not yet figured it out, Glengoyne 10 grabs my coveted Bottle rating and runs away with it. 

 

Budget Whiskey





Winner:  Harleston Green Blended Scotch

Date reviewed: August 15, 2022

Price:  $24.99

The first thing I’ll say is I’ve shared this Scotch with a few friends, one of whom is a well-known distiller. The consensus was it was pretty damned good, especially for a young whisky. I was well-blended, and while there is a smoky quality to it, it would not turn off those who dislike peat (or who are newbies).  Harleston Green is a great Scotch to explore if you’re new and curious. Harleston Green is a tasty gem for those who are more experienced. I have no doubt that you’ll enjoy this one, as such it earns its Bottle rating. 

 




Runner up: J.W. Dant Bottled-in-Bond Bourbon

Date reviewed: May 27, 2022

Price:  $14.99

JW Dant Bottled-in-Bond is a reasonably simple Bourbon. For the money, there's good value. You get notes you can actually identify because they're not muted, you get a sufficiently complex finish, and while it isn't the best of Heaven Hill's Bottled-in-Bond bottom shelf program, that shouldn't turn you off. Much of what's in that program is lovely. This one earns a Bottle rating from me. 

 

Flavored Whiskey




 

Winner:  Kurvball “The Original Barbeque Whiskey”

Date reviewed: September 28, 2022

Price:  $24.99

Kurvball is absolutely unlike any Islay whisky that I mentioned at the beginning of this review. It isn’t anything like a flavored whiskey. It stunned me how natural it tasted and how much it toyed with my brain and palate. There was no alcohol quality to it, which puts this in the dangerous category, meaning you won’t feel the impact of the alcohol until you’re stuck in a chair, wondering how you got there and how you’re going to get out of it. I smiled the entire journey. Mrs. Whiskeyfellow tasted it and was impressed. It doesn’t matter that this doesn’t come across as a whiskey; it still gets my Bottle rating.

 



Runner up: Lonerider Spirits Nutcracker Pecan Flavored Whiskey

Date reviewed: January 21, 2022

Price:  $17.95

Several companies are making pecan-flavored whiskey, but few hit the legal requirements of whiskey. Most of the flavored whiskeys I encounter are below 80°. Lonerider’s Nut Cracker does the full Monty with its version. With its attention-getting flavor, creamy mouthfeel, and welcoming nose, it is easy to understand that Lonerider wasn’t playing any games when it made this whiskey. If there ever was one, it is a true dessert drink, and I’m happy to slap a Bottle rating on it.

 

Please Santa? 




The GlenDronach Grandeur Batch 11 Single Malt Scotch

Date reviewed: October 14, 2022

Price:  $800.00

I loved this Scotch. It was yet another example of Dr. Barrie’s immense talent. The nose, the palate, the finish; each told me this was a luxurious whisky. All things being equal, this would capture my Bottle rating. The elephant in the room is the price:  $800 is beyond my and many others' means. But that shouldn’t discount your chance at a dram of Grandeur Batch 11 if you can find it at a good whisky Bar.

 

The Sleeper





J.T. Meleck American Rice Whiskey

Date reviewed: November 11, 2022

Price:  $47.00

This rice whiskey drank at its stated proof and featured more flavor than I would have ever imagined. As I suspected, it was nothing like the Japanese versions I’d tried. J.T. Meleck American Rice Whiskey is kinda-sorta like a blend of Bourbon and Rye. The more I sipped it, the more flavorful it became.

 

I’m curious if American rice whiskey will catch on. If J.T. Meleck is an example of what the category becomes, it’ll be a winner. I commend Mike Frugé for doing something decidedly different, and I’m thrilled to have this in my whiskey library. If you’ve not figured it out, it takes my Bottle rating. 

 

And there you have it; these are the best whiskeys I’ve tasted in 2022. Lift a glass to the winners and runners-up, and let’s see what 2023 brings. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my reviews and follow me. I truly appreciate it. Cheers!

 

Whiskeyfellow encourages you to enjoy your whiskey as you see fit but begs you do so responsibly.